Chili Cookoff

More than 20 chefs participated in the 30th annual Iowa State Championship Chili and Salsa Cook-off on August 10, which raised $661 for Tanager Place.

The champion, Roylene Johnson, from Ottumwa, IA, will move on to the national competition in Texas later this year. This is Johnson’s 3rd Iowa Chili Championship.

Other top awards:
Showmanship Award: Gary Christensen, Cedar Rapids
Junior Chili Champion: Taryn Sanders, Ottumwa
Salsa Champion: Ryan Russel, Cedar Rapids

The Iowa State Chili and Salsa Cook-off drew approximately 100 guests, who enjoyed tasting as many chili and salsa samples as they wanted with a $4 donation.

To view more photos, visit our Facebook page –>

Previous Post
Duck Race
Next Post
Cards with a Cause

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.